Tech support

Had a huge amount of tech frustration, with not being able to get online for a day or so — and thank god for smart phones, eh? or I would have been totally out of my mind.  Problem solved with a replacement modem I had already bought, and a friend willing to figure out how to make it work and willing to be on hold with two different tech supports … and go through the inanity that is tech support, asking questions that make no sense and having them not listen to you as they go through their script.  Her voice got a little tense: I would have been nasty and sarcastic.

If I’d had to do it, it wouldn’t have happened until the weekend when I could breathe again.  And I would have been incredibly mad and frustrated all week.

After all, I have a nice new blog, so it would have been a bummer if a lack of internet connectivity had prevented me from posting.

At some point, I’ll start tackling politics on this blog. But for now, I’m grateful to be able to post.

Here’s a quote from Gore Vidal as a close out for this stressful day:

“As societies grow decadent, the language grows decadent, too. Words are used to disguise, not to illuminate, action: you liberate a city by destroying it. Words are to confuse, so that at election time people will solemnly vote against their own interests.”

2 thoughts on “Tech support

  1. So glad to hear about a positive outcome for this! Also wanted to belatedly say that I am sorry about the loss in your extended family.

Leave a Reply

